Within the study programme of Philosophy, you can choose from eight minors. In principle, it is not allowed to take a minor other than these eight. Only in exceptional cases and with substantiation, can you propose a minor from another study programme of the faculty.

In case of a standard learning track, the minor amounts to 30 ECTS credits, divided over the second (10 ECTS credits) and third year (20 ECTS credits) of the standard learning track (BA2 and BA3). In case of a personalised learning track (GIT), you can spread it out.

Once you have made your choice of a minor, you will select course units from that minor. In doing so, you need to take into account the starting competencies of the different course units (to be found in the course sheets).

Think carefully when choosing a minor. It may be relevant for additional studies after your Bachelor's or Master's degree in Philosophy. In that case, it is best to choose course units in function of a consecutive preparatory programme. For example, with a minor in Political and Social Sciences or a minor in Law Studies, you can often count on a number of exemptions within various preparatory programmes. Inquire with the faculty of Political and Social Sciences or the faculty of Law and Criminology. There are also opportunities within the faculty of Economics to obtain an additional master's degree in, for example, Complementary Studies in Economics. So make sure you are well informed (by the learning track counsellor of these study programmes) before making a choice.

The following minors are offered within the study programme Philosophy:

  • Minor in Classical Civilization and the Classical Tradition
  • Minor in Political and Social Sciences 
    There is a difference between the minor in Political and Social Sciences within the Philosophy study programme and the minor within the Moral Sciences study programme. Philosophy students may also choose course units from the minor in Political and Social Sciences of the Moral Sciences programme. After composing the curriculum, students have to indicate the correct course units and codes in the remarks field to the Faculty Student Administration (FSA).
  • Minor in Psychology
  • Minor in Law Studies
  • Minor in Sciences
  • Minor in Globalization and Diversity Studies
  • Minor in Religion Studies
  • Minor in Education